Kenya is a country in East Africa, lying along the Indian Ocean to its southeast and at the equator. The country is named after Mount Kenya, a significant landmark and second among Africa’s highest mountain peaks. Kenya is a country of 47 counties each with its own government semi-autonomous to the central government in the capital, Nairobi. The country’s geography is as diverse as its people. It has a long coastline along the Indian Ocean and as you advance inland the landscape changes to savannah grasslands, arid and semi-arid bushes. The central regions and the western parts have forests and mountains while the northern regions are near desert landscapes. Kenya is a medium-sized country by continental standards; covering an area of about 586,600km sq. Inland water bodies cover some 10,700km sq, the bulk of this is in Lakes Victoria and Turkana. The coastline, about 550km long, faces the Indian Ocean.